Book Reviews by Kady Garrett

Christlike

Posted on: March 9, 2010

Christlike by Bill Hull

The purpose and mission of Hull’s Christlike is to help people in their “pursuit of uncomplicated obedience”.  Uncomplicated is correct.  Christlike breaks down discipleship into easy-to-read categories.  The book is bluntly honest and straightforward when discussing the problems that Christians encounter in their journey to be more like Christ.  Additionally, I loved the “Notes” section in the back of the book.  As I read, I often referred to the notes for a greater understanding of the book – they were extremely helpful.  Christlike really opened my eyes to a better understanding of some of the troubles I have encountered in my quest to be closer to Christ.  I also enjoyed the many Bible quotes, alongside the quotes from famous pastors, authors, etc.   On the flipside, I did find one problem with the book.  For someone who was unfamiliar with many of the names of famous preachers, etc., I was constantly having to Google who they were.  I feel the book could’ve prevented this dilemma by having references to the names in the “Notes” section.  I do understand that not everything can be done to further perfect every book written. Yet still, the extra references would have been helpful.  All in all, I loved Christlike and definitely felt inspired after reading it.

Thanks to NavPress for providing me with this book.

-Blog by Kady Garrett

I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

2 Responses to "Christlike"

AHHH! This is such a good review! GREAT job!

Great review!

Leave a Reply

Click to receive emails on my new reviews!

Join 6 other followers

BookSneeze

I review for BookSneeze!

Tyndale

I review for the Tyndale Blog Network!

LitFUSE

Join the Flock! LitFuse Publicity Group blogger
