Book Reviews by Kady Garrett

What Do You Say to the DJ? Expanded Edition

Posted on: March 14, 2010

What Do You Say to the DJ? Expanded Edition by Andrew Marx and Dara Shifrer

What Do You Say to the DJ? is an autobiography in the format of emails between two friends, Andrew Marx and Dara Shifrer.  The book tells the two year story of Andy and Dara’s coming into adulthood.  As the back of the book says, “college is over and real life is a work-in-progress”.  The emails between Dara and Andy had me literally laughing out loud; they were hilarious!  Also, I felt the book really allowed you to get to know the characters, as if they were close friends; which makes the’ Afterword by Andrew Marx’ and the Dara and Andy Interview at the end of the book all the more intriguing.  Andy and Dara were easy to relate to, and the email format portrayed them as very down-to-earth people.  Although the email format had its advantages, I didn’t really like it – it was kind of confusing at times.  In general, I felt the book was hard to follow and would’ve been better if backgrounds were provided for the characters.  It took me quite a while to understand what Becca’s relationship was to Andy and Dara, and I never quite figured out Juilianna’s relativeness.  Although, one thing I can’t stop blabbing about is how consistently funny What Do You Say to the DJ? is.  Also, I felt the ‘extended’ part of the book was a nice addition.  As previously stated, my main problems with the book were the email format (yet, I’m not really sure the book would even be the book it is without it), the hard to follow-ness of it, and the lack of knowing who some of the characters were.  My favorite parts were…all the funny parts! All in all, I liked the book, but it’s nothing to rave about.

Thanks to AYRX Publications and Nothing Binding for providing me with this book!

Review by Kady GarrWhat Do You Say to the DJ?ett

Leave a Reply

Click to receive emails on my new reviews!

Join 6 other followers

BookSneeze

I review for BookSneeze!

Tyndale

I review for the Tyndale Blog Network!

LitFUSE

Join the Flock! LitFuse Publicity Group blogger
